Bahrain 2010: Race Result

Bahrain 2010: Race Result

After a long winter of no action and little to speak of, Formula One cranks it up a gear and returns in earnest for the opening round of the 2010 World Championship. As the cars line up on the Bahrain grid, many questions still remain unanswered, but as the anticipation grows, attention is again centred on the 24 cars and drivers about do battle with one other.

The two major rules that have changed for this season and therefore worth noting are a new points system and the lack of refueling. At the end of the race, ten drivers will be awarded points based on the new 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 system. And a ban on topping up the car with gas during the race means all drivers start with a very heavy fuel load. This extra weight will add further pressure to the tyres and those who manage to control their rubber degradation will undoubtedly be rewarded.

The top-ten qualifiers all have to start the race on the very same tyre they set their fastest lap on in qualifying yesterday. For almost all, this means starting on the super-soft compound. Only Adrian Sutil chose to run on the medium tyre, and therefore the German should be able to drive a longer first stint in comparison to those ahead of him. If Sutil can hold on to the pack, he could upset a few people this afternoon.

Falling back from the top-ten, the remaining pilots can start on whichever tyre they like, and most are expected to start on the medium to maximise their opening stint. However, a few could go for a more daring strategy and start on the super-softs. Hispania Racing are expected to start the Bahrain Grand Prix from the pitlane, having qualified in the final two positions and likely to be wanting to stay out of the way on the opening lap. Pitstops, now only concerned with changing the tyres, are expected to be around the 4s-stationary mark.

Unlike previous Bahrain Grands Prix, the 2010 event will use the longer Endurance configuration, extending the lap from 5.412km to 6.299km. The extended loop at the top of the lap is relatively slow and quite bumpy. The extra route has added around 20s to the overall lap time. More information on the Bahrain Grand Prix can be found on BlogF1’s dedicated page, or at the sister site, AerialF1.

Bahrain Flag

Bahrain 2010
Race Result


Race Length


1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 49 Laps 1:39:20.396 25pts
2. Felipe Massa Ferari 49 Laps +16.0s 18pts
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 49 Laps +23.1s 15pts
4. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 49 Laps +38.7s 12pts
5. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 49 Laps +40.2s 10pts
6. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 49 Laps +44.1s 8pts
7. Jenson Button McLaren 49 Laps +45.2s 6pts
8. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 49 Laps +46.3s 4pts
9. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 49 Laps +53.0s 2pts
10. Rubens Barrichello Williams 49 Laps +62.4s 1pt
11. Robert Kubica Renault 49 Laps +69.0s
12. Adrian Sutil Force India 49 Laps +82.9s
13. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso 49 Laps +92.6s
14. Nico Hulkenberg Williams 48 Laps +1 Lap
15. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 47 Laps +2 Laps
16. Sebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 46 Laps +3 Laps
17. Jarno Trulli Lotus 46 Laps Hydraulics
18. Pedro De La Rosa Sauber 29 Laps Hydraulics
19. Bruno Senna Hispania Racing 19 Laps Engine
20. Timo Glock Virgin Racing 18 Laps Gearbox
21. Vitaly Petrov Renault 15 Laps Suspension
22. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 13 Laps Hydraulics
23. Lucas Di Grassi Virgin Racing 3 Laps Hydraulics
24. Karun Chandhok Hispania Racing 2 Laps Mechanical

Add comment

Follow BlogF1