Luca Di Grassi

Malaysia 2010: Qualifying Result

After a difficult qualifying session in changeable conditions, Mark Webber has set about redeeming himself from his Australian adventures last weekend by taking pole position with a sensational lap on intermediate tyres. Beating second placed driver Nico Rosberg by 1.3s, Webber made the call to use different rubber to his rivals which proved to be a good decision as the Sepang circuit started to dry in the final moments of Q3.

Nico Rosberg once again out-qualified his team mate and multiple world champion Michael Schumacher, starting on the front row for the first time in his career. Nestling into third is the sister RB6 of Sebastian Vettel while Germany continues to feature heavily in the top-five with Adrian Sutil taking fourth ahead of rookie Nico Hulkenberg in the Williams.

Robert Kubica, who went fastest in Q1 managed to finish his afternoon in sixth while Rubens Barrichello failed to match his team mate and settled for seventh. Schumacher rests in eighth with Kamui Kobayashi starting just behind in ninth with Vitantonio Liuzzi completing the top-ten.

McLaren and Ferrari made poor calls with tyre choices in Q1 and Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa and Lewis Hamilton failed to get through the first session. Jenson Button scraped in to Q2 but ended his run in the gravel, meaning he could take no further part in qualifying. Conversely, Heikki Kovalainen once again made his Lotus team proud by getting through to Q2, finishing just ahead of Timo Glock in fifteenth.

Qualifying proved to be all about the weather, with light rain failing initially before getting heavier. Everything appeared to clear up for Q2 but it didn’t take long for more rain to come and Q3 was red-flagged for a few minutes with drivers complaining of dangerous conditions. When the session restarted it was meant to be about the last driver to cross the line, but the decision by Webber to run intermediate tyres proved he would be unmatched, setting two outstanding laps to complete his Saturday.

Malaysian Flag

Malaysia 2010
Qualifying Result

20 minutes

15 minutes

10 minutes


1. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m51.886s 1m48.210s 1m49.327s 18 Laps
2. Germany FlagNico Rosberg Mercedes 1m52.560s 1m47.417s 1m50.673s 22 Laps
3. German FlagSebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m47.632s 1m46.828s 1m50.789s 19 Laps
4. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m49.479s 1m47.085s 1m50.914s 21 Laps
5. German FlagNico Hulkenberg Williams 1m49.664s 1m47.346s 1m51.001s 22 Laps
6. Polish FlagRobert Kubica Renault 1m46.283s 1m46.951s 1m51.051s 19 Laps
7. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Williams 1m50.301s 1m48.371s 1m51.511s 21 Laps
8. German FlagMichael Schumacher Mercedes 1m52.239s 1m48.400s 1m51.717s 24 Laps
9. Japanese FlagKamui Kobayashi Sauber 1m48.467s 1m47.792s 1m51.767s 21 Laps
10. Italian FlagVitantonio Liuzzi Force India 1m49.922s 1m48.238s 1m52.254s 21 Laps
11. Russian FlagVitaly Petrov Renault 1m47.952s 1m48.760s 15 Laps
12. Spanish FlagPedro De La Rosa Sauber 1m47.153s 1m48.771s 14 Laps
13. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m48.945s 1m49.207s 15 Laps
14. Spanish FlagJaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m48.655s 1m49.464s 16 Laps
15. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen Lotus 1m52.875s 1m52.270s 16 Laps
16. German FlagTimo Glock Virgin Racing 1m52.398s 1m52.520s 13 Laps
17. British FlagJenson Button McLaren 1m52.211s No Time 3 Laps
18. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Lotus 1m52.884s 6 Laps
19. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Ferrari 1m53.044s 8 Laps
20. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m53.050s 8 Laps
21. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m53.283s 7 Laps
22. Indian FlagKarun Chandhok Hispania Racing 1m56.299s 9 Laps
23. Brazilian FlagBruno Senna Hispania Racing 1m57.269s 9 Laps
24. Brazilian FlagLucas Di Grassi Virgin Racing 1m59.977s 4 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1