Australia 2010: Race Result

Australia 2010: Race Result

Sebastian Vettel has taken his second consecutive pole position from the opening two rounds of the 2010 Formula One World Championship, and the young German will be hoping for better reliability than he had in Bahrain a fortnight ago. Team mate and local hero Mark Webber lines up alongside and the duo will want to claw back the points they lost to Ferrari after their one-two finish at Sakhir. The Ferraris aren’t too far behind though, and Jenson Button will be wanting to get in the mix to score some points.

Of note, Bridgestone have supplied the teams with hard and soft tyres for the race, and Rubens Barrichello has a slightly different helmet in Melbourne, predominantly white with a lighter blue top. Furthermore, the weather could play a role with dark clouds shadowing the circuit and causing lower track temperatures.

With 13 minutes to go, rain is starting to fall on the circuit. It is light and intermittent, and if it remains like this the cars will probably start on dry tyres. But, if the rain continues they move towards intermediate tyres.

Jarno Trulli has left the grid and his Lotus is in pieces with a suspected hydraulic issues.

For more information on the Australian Grand Prix, please visit BlogF1’s dedicated page: Australian Grand Prix.

Australian Flag

Australia 2010
Race Result


Race Length


1. Jenson Button McLaren 58 Laps 1:33:36.531 25pts
2. Robert Kubica Renault 58 Laps +12s 18pts
3. Felipe Massa Ferrari 58 Laps +14.4s 15pts
4. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58 Laps +16.3s 12pts
5. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 58 Laps +16.6s 10pts
6. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 58 Laps +29.8s 8pts
7. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 58 Laps +59.8s 6pts
8. Rubens Barrichello Williams 58 Laps +60.5s 4pts
9. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 58 Laps +67.3s 2pts
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 58 Laps +69.3s 1pt
11. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso 58 Laps +71.3s
12. Pedro De La Rosa Sauber 58 Laps +74s
13. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 56 Laps +2 Laps
14. Karun Chandhok Hispania Racing 53 Laps +5 Laps
15. Timo Glock Virgin Racing +17 Laps Mechanical
16. Lucas Di Grassi Virgin Racing +32 Laps Mechanical
17. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing +33 Laps Brake Failure
18. Adrian Sutil Force India +49 Laps
19. Vitaly Petrov Renault +49 Laps Spin
20. Bruno Senna Hispania Racing +54 Laps
21. Sebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso +58 Laps Collision
22. Nico Hulkenberg Williams +58 Laps Collision
23. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber +58 Laps Collision
24. Jarno Trulli Lotus +58 Laps Hydraulics

Add comment

Follow BlogF1