Jerez Test Day One: Ferrari Dominate First Day

Jerez Test Day One: Ferrari Dominate First Day

Luca Badoer and Felipe Massa - 2008 TestingThe first official test of 2008 got underway today at Spain’s Jerez circuit. It was the Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen who dominated in the new F2008 car, only recently launched earlier in the month. Although Raikkonen set the quickest time by 0.3s, Massa’s day wasn’t without hindrance as he ground to a halt partway through the session. However, from the times set it does look like the 2008 Ferrari, which is still being heavily developed, will surely be able to compete for another title this season.

Both Toyota drivers completed the most laps, also in the new chassis, with Jarno Trulli and Timo Gock both completing 87 and 58 laps respectively. While new-comer to Formula One Sebastien Bourdais popped in a 1m20.997s to go an admirable sixth, although team mate Sebastian Vettel managed a 1m20.732 to go fourth.

Renault ran Nelson Piquet Jr today and Fernando Alonso is expected to take over tomorrow, while McLaren ran Pedro De La Rosa in the afternoon, going third fastest. Heikki Kovalainen also made his testing debut in the McLaren after lunch, familiarising himself with the MP4-23 and finishing his day in fifth. Red Bull Racing will only run one driver during this test, alternating David Coulthard with Mark Webber. Williams also ran their first of six celebratory liveries with both 2008 drivers taking to the circuit, Nico Rosberg ending up seventh and Kazuki Nakajima going twelfth.

1. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m19.845s F2008
2. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m20.123s F2008
3. Pedro De La Rosa McLaren 1m20.548s MP4-23
4. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.732s STR2
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m20.936s MP4-23
6. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.997s STR2
7. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m21.143s FW29
8. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m21.344s TF108
9. Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 1m21.595s R27
10. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m21.745s RBR3
11. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 1m23.035s F8-VII
12. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m23.134s FW29
13. Timo Glock Toyota 1m24.351s TF108
14. James Rossiter Super Aguri 1m34.852s SA07

Add comment

Follow BlogF1