Jerez Test Day Two: Fernando’s Back…

Jerez Test Day Two: Fernando’s Back…

Fernando Alonso - 2008 TestingOn his debut-run in the Renault, a car which he contributed to its development little over a year ago, Fernando Alonso has topped the timing sheets, even out-pacing Pedro De La Rosa in the McLaren. In what can only really be described as a wipe the grin off Ron’s face moment, Alonso popped in two quick runs, the fastest being a 1m19.503s, almost 0.15s faster than his fellow countryman. Ferrari weren’t too far behind either, with Kimi Raikkonen going third and Felipe Massa going fifth, both in the new F2008.

Nico Rosberg was the meat in the Ferrari sandwich, going fourth and 0.8s faster than his team mate Kazuki Nakajima. McLaren new-boy Heikki Kovalainen went sixth but managed an impressive 130 tours of Jerez, which combined with De La Rosa’s 111 meant McLaren had a very productive day.

Both Scuderia Toro Rossos looked to be on form as Sebastian Vettel went seventh, ahead of his team mate Sebastien Bourdais and Red Bull Racing driver Mark Webber. The bottom of the tables saw Force India’s Giancarlo Fisichella sandwiched between the Toyota of Timo Glock in eleventh and Kamui Kobayashi in thirteenth.

Williams are still using an interim chassis with the FW30 not due until Valencia next week. Glock ran in the new TF108 and test driver Kobayashi ran an interim car, although it did have a 2008 spec. gearbox and electronics. Super Aguri were at the circuit today but couldn’t run as they are waiting for parts to deal with an overheating problem.

Jerez Test Day Two Times

1. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m19.503s R27
2. Pedro De La Rosa McLaren 1m19.650s MP4-23
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m19.708s F2008
4. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m19.756s FW29
5. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m19.772s F2008
6. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m.19.780s MP4-23
7. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.305s STR2
8. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.346s STR2
9. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m20.392s RBR3
10. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m20.526s FW29
11. Timo Glock Toyota 1m20.598s TF108
12. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m20.764s F8-VII
13. Kamui Kobayashi Toyota 1m22.060s TF107

Add comment

Follow BlogF1