Germany 2009: Friday Practice Two

Germany 2009: Friday Practice Two

The second free practice session drew to a close earlier, and this time it was McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton who took the top spot, beating both Jenson Button’s Brawn and Sebastian Vettel’s Red Bull. Like the earlier session, the start was marred by a rain shower, but it soon passed and left a green track behind. Hamilton was able to set his quick lap at the end of the 90 minute run. It wasn’t all plain sailing though as a few drivers spun and suffered near-misses with others.

Sebastian Vettel came close to Sebastien Bourdais at the first corner towards the beginning of the session, the pair thankfully avoiding damage. When it started to drizzle again later in the afternoon, Lewis Hamilton found himself pointing the wrong way, as did Jarno Trulli in the Toyota.

The Force India team had another great showing, but much like the morning run, it was bitter sweet. This time Adrian Sutil claimed P6, but team mate Giancarlo Fisichella, who went P5 before lunch, spun early on and damaged his VJM02.

Ferrari have slipped back a little, Felipe Massa going from P3 to P12 and Kimi Raikkonen similarly going from P6 to P16. Conversely, Rubens Barrichello has managed to find some pace and BMW remain exactly as they were in the morning; P11 and P14 for Nick Heidfeld and Robert Kubica respectively. Although their times did improve substantially in line with everyone else.

Germany 2009
Friday Free Practice Two

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m32.149s 23 Laps
2. German FlagSebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m32.331s 31 Laps
3. British FlagJenson Button Brawn 1m32.369s 32 Laps
4. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m32.480s 28 Laps
5. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Toyota 1m32.511s 32 Laps
6. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m32.585s 32 Laps
7. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Brawn 1m32.664s 26 Laps
8. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Renault 1m32.774s 24 Laps
9. Japanese FlagKazuki Nakajima Williams 1m32.872s 32 Laps
10. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m32.992s 29 Laps
11. German FlagNick Heidfeld BMW 1m33.012s 36 Laps
12. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m33.052s 34 Laps
13. German FlagNico Rosberg Williams 1m33.128s 34 Laps
14. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m33.161s 28 Laps
15. German FlagTimo Glock Toyota 1m33.172s 34 Laps
16. Finnish FlagKimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m33.182s 29 Laps
17. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m33.724s 27 Laps
18. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m33.903s 30 Laps
19. French FlagSebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m34.025s 30 Laps
20. Italian FlagGiancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m38.877s 3 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1