Germany 2009: Friday Practice One

Germany 2009: Friday Practice One

After an extended break, Formula One returns this weekend for the German Grand Prix, held around the Nurburgring circuit. Leading up to the race it was said by many that some circuits remaining on the calendar would suit the Brawns, while others would suit the nearest title challengers Red Bull Racing. Looking at the first practice times, the competitiveness of each car still seems relatively vague, which will hopefully result in a close race.

Mark Webber ended the morning at the top of the timing sheets, setting the fastest time and going 0.4s faster than Jenson Button in the Brawn. Webber’s team mate Sebastian Vettel could only manage P8 and 0.8s off the pace, but it was Rubens Barrichello who surprised more by only getting as high as P12, some 1.1s off the Australian’s time. Vettel did suffer a mechanical issue which resulted in less track-time for the German.

Another surprise was Giancarlo Fisichella, who broke for lunch in P5 and just 0.001s ahead of Kimi Raikkonen in the Ferrari. Fisichella’s team mate Adrian Sutil was P20, resulting from a mechanical issue that brought his Force India to a halt after just six laps. Felipe Massa managed to get himself into P3.

The weather was quite cold in Germany this morning, which may give reason to Webber’s pace, the RB5 known to be able to get heat into the tyres quite quickly, especially in comparison to the Brawn BGP 001.

Germany 2009
Friday Free Practice One

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m33.082s 19 Laps
2. British FlagJenson Button Brawn 1m33.463s 18 Laps
3. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m33.745s 21 Laps
4. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Toyota 1m33.795s 23 Laps
5. Italian FlagGiancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m33.839s 26 Laps
6. Finnish FlagKimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m33.840s 23 Laps
7. German FlagNico Rosberg Williams 1m33.902s 26 Laps
8. German FlagSebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m33.909s 13 Laps
9. Japanese FlagKazuki Nakajima Williams 1m33.952s 25 Laps
10. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Renault 1m34.148s 16 Laps
11. German FlagNick Heidfeld BMW 1m34.221s 25 Laps
12. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Brawn 1m34.227s 17 Laps
13. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m34.483s 14 Laps
14. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m34.694s 23 Laps
15. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m34.738s 24 Laps
16. French FlagSebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m34.827s 27 Laps
17. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m34.878s 28 Laps
18. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m34.893s 26 Laps
19. German FlagTimo Glock Toyota 1m34.911s 23 Laps
20. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m35.092s 6 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1