Valencia 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Valencia 2008: Friday Morning Practice

The Formula One drivers finally got to drive around the new Valencia circuit earlier this morning as the free practice session got underway for Sunday’s race. Being a new track on the calendar, the tables look a little different as some drivers managed to get a great set-up from the word go while others started a little slower. And at the very top is Sebastian Vettel, charging around the streets in his Ferrari-powered Scuderia Toro Rosso.

Vettel’s lap was compounded by his team mate, Sebastien Bourdais, who finished in fourth before breaking for lunch. Felipe Massa had to settle for second while Kimi Raikkonen was back in seventh. McLaren are looking good at the moment with both drivers doing well throughout the 90 minute session. In the end Lewis Hamilton was third and Kovalainen ended his morning in fifth.

Part of the reason for the slightly tumultuous times was the circuit; during the running this morning the track surface was particularly dusty. This meant that as the cars ran around, the surface started to clean and the times started to tumble. In fact, the lap times improved by nine seconds and are expected to improve even further after lunch.

Valencia 2008: Friday Free Practice One

1. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m40.496s 29 Laps
2. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m40.654s 27 Laps
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m40.822s 14 Laps
4. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m41.099s 31 Laps
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m41.163s 23 Laps
6. Robert Kubica BMW 1m41.281s 24 Laps
7. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m41.317s 27 Laps
8. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m41.329s 26 Laps
9. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m41.385s 31 Laps
10. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m41.706s 22 Laps
11. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m41.830s 27 Laps
12. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m41.930s 27 Laps
13. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m41.951s 23 Laps
14. Timo Glock Toyota 1m42.036s 27 Laps
15. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m42.107s 32 Laps
16. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m42.453s 23 Laps
17. Jenson Button Honda 1m42.460s 29 Laps
18. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m43.075s 25 Laps
19. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m43.312s 23 Laps
20. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m43.524s 5 Laps

1 comment

Follow BlogF1