Valencia 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Valencia 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

With the second free practice session now completed at the new Valencia circuit in Spain, it is Kimi Raikkonen who leads local hero Fernando Alonso at the top of the tables. The Spaniard had posted a fastest lap towards the end of the 90 minute session but on his final tour, Raikkonen went 0.02s faster and went to the top. The real surprise of the afternoon was Jenson Button though, who managed to claim third in his Honda RA108.

Felipe Massa pushed the McLaren duo down to fifth and sixth while the Force Indias showed improvements with their seamless shift gear box. Giancarlo Fisichella went tenth while team mate Adrian Sutil managed seventeenth. And although Honda were looking fine with Button near the top, Rubens Barrichello ended Friday at the very bottom of the timing sheets. The circuit did improve further with laptimes improving by about a second, but rain this evening in Valencia could undo all the hard work by washing away the rubber that has been laid down.

Tomorrow’s qualifying reports will be late as I am away for the afternoon, but Saturday’s running should prove to be very exciting and I will post all the details in the late evening.

Valencia 2008: Friday Free Practice Two

1. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m39.477s 30 Laps
2. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m39.497s 39 Laps
3. Jenson Button Honda 1m39.546s 35 Laps
4. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m39.678s 31 Laps
5. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m39.712s 31 Laps
6. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m39.954s 30 Laps
7. Timo Glock Toyota 1m39.967s 32 Laps
8. Robert Kubica BMW 1m40.149s 35 Laps
9. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m40.439s 32 Laps
10. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m40.500s 23 Laps
11. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m40.585s 24 Laps
12. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m40.607s 34 Laps
13. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m40.696s 23 Laps
14. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m40.742s 34 Laps
15. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m40.877s 32 Laps
16. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m40.982s 36 Laps
17. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m40.999s 32 Laps
18. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m41.084s 35 Laps
19. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m41.246s 38 Laps
20. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m41.377s 31 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1