Turkey 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Turkey 2008: Friday Morning Practice

The fifth round of the 2008 Formula One World Championship got underway earlier this morning, with Felipe Massa going fastest in the pre-lunch practice around the Istanbul Circuit. Having won the previous two Turkish Grands Prix, Massa is quite handy at this track and his lap time was 0.133s faster than second-placed driver Heikki Kovalainen. Showing no signs from his accident a fortnight ago, Kovalainen pipped his team mate into second, while both McLarens looked much more comfortable than they have done in the previous two or three races.

Unfortunately for Ferrari, while Massa was at the top of the tables, Kimi Raikkonen was at the bottom. The Finnish driver was forced to sit out most of the session with a faulty gearbox and managed to complete only three laps. Interestingly, it took about forty-minutes before anybody ventured out on to the damp tarmac, reported to be because of delayed circuit cleaning rather than weather-related. This, combined with a cold start to the day meant there were a fair few trips and spins across the run-off areas.

Kazuki Nakajima, Adrian Sutil, Jarno Trulli, Felipe Massa and Lewis Hamilton all viewed the scenery at T3-6. T7 witnessed Giancarlo Fisichella perform well-orchestrated pirouette, and the hugely-challenging T8 caught out Robert Kubica, David Coulthard, Felipe Massa and Adrian Sutil.

The remainder of the table is as expected for the morning session; a little odd in places but nothing too out of the ordinary. The biggest disappointment came from the Red Bulls, with Mark Webber and Coulthard only getting into sixteenth and seventeenth respectively. Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button started their weekend’s well with fourth and fifth, Nakajima slotting in behind in sixth for Williams and Rubens Barrichello managed eighth before breaking for lunch.

Turkey Friday Practice One

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m27.323s 16 Laps
2. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m27.456s 17 Laps
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m27.752s 15 Laps
4. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m.28.284s 16 Laps
5. Jenson Button Honda 1m28.919s 12 Laps
6. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m29.002s 19 Laps
7. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m29.024s 21 Laps
8. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m29.068s 11 Laps
9. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m29.082s 23 Laps
10. Timo Glock Toyota 1m29.103s 19 Laps
11. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m29.329s 24 Laps
12. Robert Kubica BMW 1m29.330s 7 Laps
13. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m29.367s 20 Laps
14. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m29.756s 23 Laps
15. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m29.811s 23 Laps
16. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m30.088s 21 Laps
17. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m30.340s 13 Laps
18. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m30.388s 19 Laps
19. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m30.426s 21 Laps
20. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m30.409s 3 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1