Turkey 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Turkey 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Ferrari headed up the afternoon practice session, this time with reigning world champion Kimi Raikkonen getting the better of his rivals and going to the top. Morning session leader Felipe Massa went down to third, but the results are encouraging for Ferrari who are looking quite imperious at the moment. Lewis Hamilton squeezed his MP4-23 into second, 0.036s shy of Raikkonen and 0.1s ahead of Massa. The session was stopped briefly to recover the crashed Red Bull of Mark Webber, the Australian going off at T6 and damaging his car.

David Coulthard in the sister Red Bull did well to improve to fourth, while Heikki Kovalainen and Kazuki Nakajima managed to keep similar pace from the morning and go fifth and eighth respectively. Robert Kubica improved to sixth in the BMW, while Nick Heidfeld slipped from seventh to tenth after lunch.

The times are all quite tight, with Raikkonen and Hamilton leading with similar pace and only two seconds separating the top drivers from the those at the bottom, Adrian Sutil aside, that is. Other drivers to take detours were Timo Glock, who slid on the slightly damp track at T4 and damaged his front wing while trying to rejoin the track, and Sebastien Bourdais who also had a lucky escape when he slid on a kerb at T9. The Toro Rosso was undamaged in the incident.

Turkey Friday Practice Two

1. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m27.543s 30 Laps
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m27.579s 31 Laps
3. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m27.682s 29 Laps
4. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m.27.763s 24 Laps
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m27.954s 27 Laps
6. Robert Kubica BMW 1m28.431s 29 Laps
7. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m28.619s 29 Laps
8. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m28.664s 27 Laps
9. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m28.681s 26 Laps
10. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m28.817s 31 Laps
11. Jenson Button Honda 1m28.826s 28 Laps
12. Timo Glock Toyota 1m28.849s 26 Laps
13. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m28.907s 29 Laps
14. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m29.008s 35 Laps
15. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m29.024s 22 Laps
16. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m29.212s 26 Laps
17. Sebastien Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m29.462s 30 Laps
18. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m29.630s 32 Laps
19. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m29.633s 4 Laps
20. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m30.832s 9 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1