Spain 2009: Friday Practice Two

Spain 2009: Friday Practice Two

A busy second practice session at Spain’s Circuit de Catalunya has resulted in the Williams duo leading the rest of the pack, Nico Rosberg reclaiming his spot ahead of team mate Kazuki Nakajima. Nico Rosberg ended his afternoon by pulling over to the side of the track with a mechanical issue on his final run, but the fastest time had already been set. Fernando Alonso improved dramatically in the R29 and finished in third, 0.2s shy of the Williams pace.

Alonso’s team mate Nelson Piquet Jr is enjoying some revived form so far this weekend, breaking for lunch in P7 and finishing the second session in P8. His day wasn’t easy though with incidents in both practices. The afternoon run saw the Brazilian scrape the barrier and his Renault required the assistance of the marshals before he could rejoin the track. A second spin later on showed that improvement is still needed.

Toyota fared less well than earlier and ended up towards the bottom of the timing sheet, Timo Glock posting the eighteenth fastest lap and Jarno Trulli just 0.3s down in nineteenth. Also not doing as well as expected were both the McLarens with Lewis Hamilton completing his Friday running in P13 and Heikki Kovalainen in P14.

Giancarlo Fisichella showed promise in the Force India, just as he did in Bahrain with a fine P12. Unfortunately for the team though, Adrian Sutil was forced to watch from the pitlane as his fuel cell developed a problem. And also running well this afternoon were both Scuderia Toro Rossos, with Sebastien Buemi out-performing his team mate once again and finishing in P9, ahead of Sebastien Bourdais in P11.

Spain 2009
Friday Free Practice Two

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. German FlagNico Rosberg Williams 1m21.588s 43 Laps
2. Japanese FlagKazuki Nakajima Williams 1m21.740s 40 Laps
3. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Renault 1m21.781s 36 Laps
4. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Brawn 1m21.843s 39 Laps
5. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m22.027s 37 Laps
6. British FlagJenson Button Brawn 1m22.052s 35 Laps
7. German FlagSebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m22.082s 45 Laps
8. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m22.349s 26 Laps
9. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m22.571s 17 Laps
10. Finnish FlagKimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m22.599s 40 Laps
11. French FlagSebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m22.615s 30 Laps
12. Italian FlagGiancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m22.670s 32 Laps
13. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m22.809s 31 Laps
14. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m22.876s 29 Laps
15. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m22.878s 35 Laps
16. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m22.948s 40 Laps
17. German FlagNick Heidfeld BMW 1m23.173s 39 Laps
18. German FlagTimo Glock Toyota 1m23.360s 46 Laps
19. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Toyota 1m23.623s 47 Laps
20. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India No Time 0 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1