Spain 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Spain 2008: Friday Morning Practice

The Spanish Grand Prix got underway this morning with the drivers heading out on track to complete the morning’s 90 minute session around Barcelona’s Circuit de Catalunya. Following on from their impressive form in Malaysia and Bahrain, Ferrari continued to dominate after the three week break and posted the top two times before breaking for lunch. Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen sandwiched Bahrain pole-sitter Robert Kubica in third, while the Renault’s of Fernando Alonso and Nelson Piquet Jr looked pretty good in sixth and seventh respectively. Perhaps Alonso was trying to deflect attention earlier in the week when he said he wasn’t to optimistic about this race?

Super Aguri were on track and Takuma Sato got within 0.2 seconds of twentieth placed driver Sebastian Vettel, while Force India were grouped together in sixteenth and seventeenth, Adrian Sutil getting the slight upper hand on his experienced team mate Giancarlo Fisichella. The mid-field were very tightly packed together, the gap from Timo Glock in eleventh and Nico Rosberg in twelfth only being one-thousandth of a second. In fact, from eleventh down to seventeenth was only 0.2s.

Spain Friday Practice One

1. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m20.649s 17 Laps
2. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m20.699s 9 Laps
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m21.192s 20 Laps
4. Robert Kubica BMW 1m.21.568s 20 Laps
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m21.758s 10 Laps
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m21.933s 18 Laps
7. Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 1m21.936s 21 Laps
8. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m22.118s 20 Laps
9. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m22.278s 24 Laps
10. Jenson Button Honda 1m22.632s 16 Laps
11. Timo Glock Toyota 1m23.002s 21 Laps
12. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m23.003s 25 Laps
13. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m23.015s 14 Laps
14. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m23.141s 15 Laps
15. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m23.153s 24 Laps
16. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m23.156s 22 Laps
17. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m23.196s 20 Laps
18. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m23.353s 14 Laps
19. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m23.952s 15 Laps
20. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m24.082s 15 Laps
21. Takuma Sato Super Aguri 1m24.278s 14 Laps
22. Anthony Davidson Super Aguri 1m25.068s 10 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1