Malaysia 2009: Qualifying Result

Malaysia 2009: Qualifying Result

Jenson Button has captured his second consecutive pole of the 2009 Formula One World Championship, taking the fastest lap in the Malaysian Grand Prix qualifying session. The surprise of Saturday’s running was how dialled-in the Toyota’s were, with Jarno Trulli on the front row and team mate Timo Glock in fifth, and also the Ferraris, who could only manage ninth with Kimi Raikkonen and a lowly sixteenth for Felipe Massa. After looking good in practice yesterday, the Scuderia could only watch has both drivers fell down the tables in Q1.

Rubens Barrichello will take a five grid slot penalty and Sebastian Vettel will be demoted ten places following penalties incurred here and in Australia last weekend. These will be reflected in the grid post a little later this afternoon.

The qualifying report can be viewed here: Malaysia 2009: Two In A Row For Jenson Button.

The grid (inclusive of penalties) can be viewed here: Malaysia 2009: The Grid.

Malaysia 2009
Qualifying Results

20 minutes

15 minutes

10 minutes

1. Jenson Button Brawn 1m35.058s 1m33.784s 1m35.181s
2. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m34.745s 1m33.990s 1m35.273s
3. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m34.935s 1m34.276s 1m35.518s
4. Rubens Barrichello Brawn 1m34.681s 1m34.387s 1m35.651s
5. Timo Glock Toyota 1m34.907s 1m34.258s 1m35.690s
6. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m35.083s 1m34.547s 1m35.750s
7. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m35.027s 1m34.222s 1m35.797s
8. Robert Kubica BMW 1m35.166s 1m34.562s 1m36.106s
9. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m35.476s 1m34.456s 1m36.170s
10. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m35.260s 1m34.706s 1m37.659s
11. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m35.110s 1m34.769s
12. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m35.341s 1m34.788s
13. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m35.280s 1m34.905s
14. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m35.023s 1m34.924s
15. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m35.507s 1m35.431s
16. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m35.642s
17. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m35.708s
18. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m35.908s
19. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m35.951s
20. Sebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m36.107s


Follow BlogF1