France 2008: Friday Morning Practice

France 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Felipe Massa has gone fastest around Magny Cours in this morning’s practice session, the Brazilian driver setting a lap time 0.7s faster than Lewis Hamilton in the McLaren. Less than 0.05s behind Hamilton was team mate Heikki Kovalainen and Kimi Raikkonen went fourth in the sister Ferrari. Robert Kubica continued to do a solid job for BMW while Fernando Alonso pleased fans with a sixth place position, only 0.4s down on the McLaren’s. Although his engine went pop just before the scheduled break for lunch.

There were no great surprises during the morning run, although a few drivers ran wide at the tight Adelaide hairpin. Williams don’t appear to be doing so well around Magny Cours, but as this is the first running of the weekend, little can be deduced from Nico Rosberg’s and Kazuki Nakajima’s times at the moment.

Nelson Piquet Jr put his hard work from the test session at Barcelona last week to good use, his Renault climbing up to eleventh on the timing sheet and the gap to his world champion team mate being only 0.663s. The only other notable point from this pre-lunch tour are Honda, who like Williams do not appear to be keyed in just yet. However, they have time to adjust their cars and we’ll see where everybody shakes out after the second session this afternoon.

France Friday Practice One

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m15.306s 22 Laps
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m16.002s 22 Laps
3. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m16.055s 20 Laps
4. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m16.073s 21 Laps
5. Robert Kubica BMW 1m16.377s 19 Laps
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m16.400s 23 Laps
7. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m16.758s 32 Laps
8. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m16.838s 27 Laps
9. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m16.870s 21 Laps
10. Timo Glock Toyota 1m16.886s 31 Laps
11. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m17.063s 31 Laps
12. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m17.234s 21 Laps
13. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m17.269s 22 Laps
14. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m17.394s 30 Laps
15. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m17.491s 25 Laps
16. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m17.683s 27 Laps
17. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m17.696s 25 Laps
18. Jenson Button Honda 1m17.928s 21 Laps
19. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m18.072s 27 Laps
20. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m18.673s 13 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1