Turkey 2009: Friday Practice One

Turkey 2009: Friday Practice One

Nico Rosberg of Williams topped the first free practice around Turkey’s Istanbul Park circuit earlier today, setting a lap time 0.3s faster than nearest rival Lewis Hamilton in the McLaren. Hamilton had been in the top spot as the 90 minute session drew to a close, but in a last second attempt, Rosberg managed to clinch the fastest time, demoting the reigning world champion to P2. Jarno Trulli went into P3 in the Toyota while the Brawns were back in P9 and P11.

The Istanbul Park circuit started off in a very dusty condition, meaning that few drivers ventured out in the first 30 minutes, and when they did plumes of dust were sent into the air as the cars cleaned the surface with each tour. By the mid-point, most drivers had set a time and Jarno Trulli showed promise in the TF109, improving on his and the car’s form from the previous Monaco Grand Prix.

A few drivers left the track at the first corner, and when Felipe Massa ventured off into the scenery, his Ferrari dislodged the astro-turf lining the track, causing the session to be briefly stopped while repairs were made. Turn 8 also saw a few drivers run wide, the corner notorious with its quadruple apex. Sebastian Vettel, Timo Glock and Fernando Alonso also span and one point or another during the practice run.

The times set were relatively close, with only a second separating Lewis Hamilton in P2 and Mark Webber in P15. Other notable performances came from the Force Indias, with Adrian Sutil ending his morning in P12, and Giancarlo Fisichella keeping himself ahead of the two Scuderia Toro Rosso pilots.

Turkey 2009
Friday Free Practice One

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. German FlagNico Rosberg Williams 1m28.952s 24 Laps
2. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m29.263s 23 Laps
3. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Toyota 1m29.271s 26 Laps
4. German FlagSebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1m29.337s 17 Laps
5. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m29.342s 22 Laps
6. Japanese FlagKazuki Nakajima Williams 1m29.371s 21 Laps
7. Finnish FlagKimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m29.398s 24 Laps
8. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Renault 1m29.422s 24 Laps
9. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Brawn 1m29.525s 24 Laps
10. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m29.590s 19 Laps
11. British FlagJenson Button Brawn 1m29.747s 20 Laps
12. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m29.864s 21 Laps
13. German FlagTimo Glock Toyota 1m29.934s 25 Laps
14. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m30.132s 18 Laps
15. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m30.176s 21 Laps
16. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m30.645s 22 Laps
17. German FlagNick Heidfeld BMW 1m30.689s 19 Laps
18. Italian FlagGiancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m30.729s 22 Laps
19. French FlagSebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m30.838s 24 Laps
20. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m30.944s 25 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1