Singapore 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Singapore 2008: Friday Morning Practice

A little late – qualifying is due to begin in about an hour or so, but here ae the practice times from yesterday, which saw the drivers venture out onto the artificially lit Singapore street circuit for the first time in preparation for Sunday’s race. All in all, the sesions went well and there were only a couple of moments. Mark Webber slammed his Red Bull into the entrance of the tunnel, and the bumps caused a few airborne situations for the pilots.

Lewis Hamilton went fastest in the morning session, but both Ferraris were very close behind and Felipe Massa was within a tenth of the McLaren drivers’ time. Mark Webber could only complete four laps before breaking the front of this car at the tunnel, and Jarno Trulli decided, after spinning on the start/finish straight, to drive the wrong way up the track for a few metres so he could get into the pitlane. For this, the Italian was severly reprimanded and fined, although Trulli believes he chose the safetst option at the time.

Rubens Barrichello also claimed a special connection with the barriers, although his Honda was too badly damaged. Nico Rosberg and Nelson Piquet Jr. appeared to run well, Rosberg finishing in sixth and Piquet in nineth. Jenson Button in tenth was also a nice surprise although the Red Bull four didn’t do so well, with Sebastian Vettel in eleventh, team mate Sebastien Bourdais in fourteenth, David Coulthard in fifteenth and Webber sulking somewhere in the motorhome.

Singapore 2008: Friday Free Practice One

1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m45.518s 20 Laps
2. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m45.598s 23 Laps
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m45.961s 24 Laps
4. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m46.463s 20 Laps
5. Robert Kubica BMW 1m46.618s 25 Laps
6. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m46.710s 29 Laps
7. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m46.725s 24 Laps
8. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m46.964s 30 Laps
9. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m47.175s 30 Laps
10. Jenson Button Honda 1m47.277s 35 Laps
11. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m47.570s 28 Laps
12. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m47.662s 23 Laps
13. Timo Glock Toyota 1m47.706s 27 Laps
14. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m48.097s 16 Laps
15. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m48.517s 23 Laps
16. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m48.725s 19 Laps
17. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m48.839s 24 Laps
18. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m48.906s 25 Laps
19. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m49.064s 29 Laps
20. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m53.703s 4 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1