Silverstone: A Bit Of History

Silverstone: A Bit Of History

Silverstone first hosted the British Grand Prix in 1948, and in 1950 when the Formula One Championship was organised, the British racing circuit hosted the first race of the year.

The circuit – which is located in Northamptonshire – was originally a WWII airfield, parts of which remain to this day. It is often said that on race day, Silverstone becomes the busiest airfield in the UK!

The British Grand Prix has been held at other circuits around the country, most notably at Aintree and Brands Hatch. However, since 1987, Silverstone has exclusively hosted the race while Donington Park got a European Grand Prix in 1993.

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone has occasionally come under fire from Bernie Ecclestone for being outdated and behind the times. The BRDC (who still own the track) have been spending money in attempts to improve the facilities (earlier this year they announced a new grandstand) and silence its critics. The circuit is now allowed to host the race until 2009, whereupon the future of the British Grand Prix will once again come to the fore.

Famous winners at Silverstone include our very own Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill. Mansell won it 4 times (once at Brands Hatch) and Hill won the race in 1994 much to the elation of the spectators. David Coulthard has also taken victory at Silverstone on two occasions and will be looking to continue his Monaco form at the weekend.

Other notable winners include Johnny Herbert in 1995, Jim Clark on numerous occasions, James Hunt in 1977 and Jackie Stewart has enjoyed success at Silverstone.

Related Links:

Silverstone Official Site

BRDC British Grand Prix Site

Grand Prix Racing History Page

Add comment

Follow BlogF1