Silverstone 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Silverstone 2008: Friday Morning Practice

On a day when news appears to be coming at me from all quarters, it is nice to report on some racing for once, or at least, almost racing. This morning saw the Formula One teams go about their free practice sessions, and after the first 90 minute run in the morning, Ferrari’s Felipe Massa was the fastest. The Brazilian surprisingly managed to achieve this despite crashing after just eight laps. However, Heikki Kovalainen couldn’t quite beat the time and came in a close second.

With about 30 minutes of the session left, Fernando Alonso’s Renault V8 expired on the run down to Stowe and deposited oil on the track. Unfortunately for Felipe, this caught him out and the Ferrari pilot had a heavy accident, causing substantial damage to the rear of the car. Massa was unhurt in the accident, but had to sit out the rest of the session.

The practice run was put on pause while the marshals retrieved the F2008 from the barrier and they cleaned up the oil from the Renault. Alonso did his best to get his car off the track after the blow up, but the oil spillage was too much and needless-to-say, little could have been done to avoid the racing line being tarnished.

Giancarlo Fisichella, who has been deemed fit to race following his heavy shunt during last week’s test, had a minor off over the gravel which inhibited Heikki Kovalainen’s potentially faster final run. The Finn is looking very good thus far in the weekend and has been vowing to press that his championship hunt is not yet over.

Silverstone 2008: Friday Free Practice One

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m19.575s 8 Laps
2. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m19.587s 15 Laps
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m19.623s 13 Laps
4. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m19.948s 16 Laps
5. Robert Kubica BMW 1m20.367s 11 Laps
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m20.436s 7 Laps
7. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.588s 18 Laps
8. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m20.653s 16 Laps
9. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m20.698s 16 Laps
10. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m20.744s 27 Laps
11. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m20.892s 10 Laps
12. Timo Glock Toyota 1m21.102s 22 Laps
13. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m21.107s 18 Laps
14. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m21.166s 17 Laps
15. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m21.265s 22 Laps
16. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m21.282s 21 Laps
17. Jenson Button Honda 1m21.901s 7 Laps
18. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m22.169s 16 Laps
19. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m22.219s 19 Laps
20. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m24.219s 4 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1