Monza Test Day Two: Heidfeld Responds By Going Fastest

Monza Test Day Two: Heidfeld Responds By Going Fastest

The second day of testing at Italy’s Monza circuit saw Nick Heidfeld go fastest for BMW and respond to his bosses warning yesterday that his position in the team may be under threat. Although the teams are just trying out varying set ups to prepare for the race at Monza in mid-September, Heidfeld managed to go 0.2s faster than Nico Rosberg in the Williams, who was himself 0.5s up on McLaren’s Heikki Kovalainen.

Sebastian Vettel equalled his impressive run from yesterday by going fourth once again, and after a strong run in the morning, the car was handed to the German’s team mate, Sebastien Bourdais. The French driver lapped 0.9s slower than Vettel, but Bourdais could have been trying out different strategies with the Scuderia Toro Rosso. Also sharing a car were Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button. The pair propped up the timing sheet, going eleventh and twelfth respectively. As with Scuderia Toro Rosso, the post-lunch driver set the slower time.

Fernando Alonso was out in force for Renault and managed to get himself into sixth, just 0.2s down on Felipe Massa in the Ferrari. Also testing today today was Adrian Sutil for Force India and Jarno Trulli once again in the Toyota. Mark Webber was the busiest man of the day, completing 101 tours of Monza and settling for eighth in the Red Bull. The times were not as close today than they were yesterday, with the difference between the fastest and the slowest being 2.4s. On Wednesday, the difference was only 1.1s.

Monza Test: Day Two Times

1. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m22.621s 89 Laps
2. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m22.879s 100 Laps
3. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m23.341s 92 Laps
4. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m23.424s 47 Laps
5. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m23.445s 86 Laps
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m23.606s 95 Laps
7. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m23.823s 92 Laps
8. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m23.936s 101 Laps
9. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m24.158s 77 Laps
10. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m24.311s 44 Laps
11. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m24.695s 51 Laps
12. Jenson Button Honda 1m25.058s 42 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1