Hungary 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Hungary 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Felipe Massa topped the tables in the morning free practice at the Hungaroring earlier today. The Brazilian driver managed a lap time 0.4s faster than his team mate Kimi Raikkonen who was himself 0.4s ahead of McLaren pilot Heikki Kovalainen. The Finnish driver, who has just been announced as Lewis Hamilton’s team mate for 2009, lapped the track 0.5s faster than the Briton and appeared to be very fast in the first part of the circuit, although lost time towards the end.

Fernando Alonso showed that the improvements made to the Renault R28 chassis are working and went into the best of the rest position in fifth. Timo Glock, who was cleared to race after his sizable accident in Germany a fortnight ago, went sixth for Toyota and Robert Kubica could only manage seventh. Team mate Nick Heidfeld went ninth and sandwiched Nelson Piquet Jr. in eighth.

The only driver to have suffered a serious issue was Sebastian Vettel, the German parking his car just four laps into the 90 minute session. Jarno Trulli spun but was able to continue on his lap and return to the pitlane. Honda managed to lap ahead of the Williams but BMW and Red Bull appear off-pace going by the lap times – Red Bull are 1.6s off the leaders pace and BMW are 1.3s shy.

Hungary 2008: Friday Free Practice One

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m20.981s 19 Laps
2. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m21.345s 21 Laps
3. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m21.410s 17 Laps
4. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m21.535s 18 Laps
5. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m21.802s 18 Laps
6. Timo Glock Toyota 1m21.931s 22 Laps
7. Robert Kubica BMW 1m22.267s 18 Laps
8. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m22.326s 19 Laps
9. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m22.370s 22 Laps
10. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m22.457s 25 Laps
11. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m22.654s 23 Laps
12. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m22.700s 16 Laps
13. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m22.900s 26 Laps
14. Jenson Button Honda 1m22.917s 27 Laps
15. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m23.093s 26 Laps
16. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m23.147s 21 Laps
17. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m23.274s 22 Laps
18. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m23.353s 25 Laps
19. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m23.459s 28 Laps
20. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m23.923s 4 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1