Hungary 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Hungary 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Lewis Hamilton took control of the second free practice session at the Hungaroring earlier today, the McLaren driver setting the fastest lap ahead of Renault’s Nelson Piquet Jr. The Brazilian driver went well in the morning but managed to pop in a quick lap after lunch on soft Bridgestone tyres and team mate Fernando Alonso went fourth, just behind Hamilton’s team mate, Heikki Kovalainen. Ferrari could only manage fifth and sixth, however Kimi Raikkonen got the better of Felipe Massa this time around.

BMW improved slightly in the second session; they appeared to flounder before breaking for lunch. In the afternoon Nick Heidfeld finished in seventh while Robert Kubica followed the German into eighth. The remainder of the drivers all seemed to be slightly closer to the leader’s pace than before and the timing tables were a little more mixed. Sebastian Vettel, who stopped on-track in the morning session after four laps due to hydraulic failure, could only complete five in the afternoon after further trouble.

Williams improved Nico Rosberg’s placing, the German ending in afternoon in tenth, and Red Bull Racing finished in twelfth and thirteenth. Honda regressed though and Jenson Button could only muster sixteenth while Rubens Barrichello languished in nineteenth.

Hungary 2008: Friday Free Practice Two

1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m20.554s 35 Laps
2. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m20.748s 38 Laps
3. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m20.760s 33 Laps
4. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m20.928s 35 Laps
5. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m21.009s 35 Laps
6. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m21.010s 36 Laps
7. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m21.138s 46 Laps
8. Robert Kubica BMW 1m21.363s 36 Laps
9. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m21.505s 42 Laps
10. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m21.581s 34 Laps
11. Timo Glock Toyota 1m21.662s 39 Laps
12. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m21.733s 43 Laps
13. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m21.837s 34 Laps
14. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m21.902s 33 Laps
15. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m21. 955s 41 Laps
16. Jenson Button Honda 1m22.150s 41 Laps
17. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m22.197s 36 Laps
18. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m22.358s 37 Laps
19. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m22.448s 33 Laps
20. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m22.945s 5 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1