Brazil 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Brazil 2008: Friday Morning Practice

Yesterday morning (local time) saw the first running of the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix as the cars headed out on to the bumpy Interlagos circuit for the first of two Friday practice sessions. The final result after 90 minutes was both championship contenders at the top of the tables, Felipe Massa ahead of Lewis Hamilton by 0.2s. The track was mostly dry, although in places it did become quite slippery due to light drizzle falling over the autodrome.

Both Ferraris ran well and Kimi Raikkonen broke for lunch in a satisfying third, outlapping BMW’s Robert Kubica and McLaren driver Heikki Kovalainen. There were no real surprises from the morning session, although both the Scuderia Toro Rossos look a little off-colour, Sebastien Bourdais only getting as high as thirteenth and team mate Sebastian Vettel finishing in seventeenth.

Renault were showing good pace with both cars on Friday, Fernando Alonso completing 25 laps to get into sixth and Nelson Piquet Jr. completing a massive 39 laps to claim eighth. Both Hondas found themselves reaching the dizzy heights of the midfield as well, with Rubens Barrichello lapping less than 0.03s slower than Bourdais and ending up in fourteenth. Jenson Button was just behind in fifteenth and 0.9s down on his team mate.

Brazil 2008: Friday Free Practice One

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m12.305s 24 Laps
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m12.495s 23 Laps
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m12.507s 18 Laps
4. Robert Kubica BMW 1m12.874s 24 Laps
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m12.925s 20 Laps
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m13.061s 25 Laps
7. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m13.298s 24 Laps
8. Nelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m13.378s 39 Laps
9. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m13.426s 28 Laps
10. Timo Glock Toyota 1m13.466s 33 Laps
11. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1m13.600s 24 Laps
12. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m13.621s 23 Laps
13. Sebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m13.649s 30 Laps
14. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m13.676s 28 Laps
15. Jenson Button Honda 1m13.766s 13 Laps
16. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m13.806s 24 Laps
17. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m13.836s 30 Laps
18. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m13.861s 19 Laps
19. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m14.704s 21 Laps
20. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m14.821s 21 Laps

Add comment

Follow BlogF1