Brazil 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

Brazil 2008: Friday Afternoon Practice

The second practice session from yesterday afternoon saw the tables turn slightly as Fernando Alonso went to the top of the class in the Renault R28. Title contender Felipe Massa had been dominant for most of the 90 minutes, but in the closing stages Alonso managed a lap time 0.05s faster, demoting the Brazilian to second. Once again the circuit was frequented with light rain showers which disrupted play a little, but that was little excuse for Lewis Hamilton who ended the day in the midfield, only going ninth fastest.

The Briton suffered from locking wheels, mainly in the middle sector, and although a change to the softer compound improved this issue, the rain fell at the wrong time and Hamilton couldn’t capitalise on this change. Jarno Trulli on the other hand was on-form, going third fastest in the Toyota and beating Kimi Raikkonen’s Ferrari by 0.165s. Scuderia Toro Rosso driver Sebastian Vettel also improved from his morning’s run getting into sixth, although Sebastien Bourdais could only achieve seventeenth in the sister car and going off the circuit on a number of occasions.

Williams look quite good at Interlagos, with Nico Rosberg climbing as high as eighth and team mate Kazuki Nakajima finishing in tenth. Mark Webber hauled his Red Bull into fifth and retiring David Coulthard completed 38 laps to get into eleventh. Honda’s morning pace slipped in the afternoon, with Rubens Barrichello ending his day in sixteenth and Jenson Button only managing a lowly eighteenth.

Brazil 2008
Friday Free Practice Two

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. Spanish FlagFernando Alonso Renault 1m12.296s 43 Laps
2. Brazilian FlagFelipe Massa Ferrari 1m12.353s 41 Laps
3. Italian FlagJarno Trulli Toyota 1m12.435s 44 Laps
4. Finnish FlagKimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m12.600s 32 Laps
5. Australian FlagMark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m12.650s 45 Laps
6. German FlagSebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m12.687s 47 Laps
7. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m12.703s 44 Laps
8. German FlagNico Rosberg Williams 1m12.761s 42 Laps
9. British FlagLewis Hamilton McLaren 1m12.827s 33 Laps
10. Japanese FlagKazuki Nakajima Williams 1m12.886s 42 Laps
11. British FlagDavid Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m12.896s 38 Laps
12. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m12.971s 48 Laps
13. German FlagNick Heidfeld BMW 1m13.038s 49 Laps
14. German FlagTimo Glock Toyota 1m13.041s 39 Laps
15. Finnish FlagHeikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m13.213s 37 Laps
16. Brazilian FlagRubens Barrichello Honda 1m13.221s 37 Laps
17. French FlagSebastien Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m13.273s 41 Laps
18. British FlagJenson Button Honda 1m13.341s 49 Laps
19. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m13.428s 32 Laps
20. Italian FlagGiancarlo Fisichella Force India 1m13.691s 33 Laps

1 comment

Follow BlogF1