Barcelona Test Day One: STR Hopefuls Top Tables

Barcelona Test Day One: STR Hopefuls Top Tables

Testing re-commenced earlier today at the Barcelona track, Circuit de Catalunya. It was the first test since the Brazilian Grand Prix finale at the beginning of November, and a lot of teams were running new technology due to be implemented for the 2009 campaign. BMW rolled out a concept of the F1.09, complete with skinny rear wing, larger front wing as well as KERS and no aerodynamic features on the bodywork. The car was pretty ugly, but this is the future of Formula One, and both Christian Klien and Robert Kubica were given a chance to drive the new machine.

It was Scuderia Toro Rosso hopeful Takuma Sato that set the pace, driving an old STR3 but with slick tyres, and beating fellow hopeful Sebastien Buemi in the sister car. Experienced test driver Alex Wurz wound up third after a full days running, driving a modified Honda RA108. Pedro De La Rosa tested McLaren’s KERS system, while Gary Paffett had added ballast to simulate the weight of the system in his MP4-23. Luca Badoer also carried extra ballast to simulate running the KERS system, and along with Marc Gene, were down in the tables.

Honda also evaluated Bruno Senna and Lucas Di Grassi in the RA108, allowing both drivers a chance to run around the Catalan circuit. Red Bull Racing let world rally champion Sebastien Loeb loose in an RB3, and Giedo Van Der Garde was also allowed to test, having recently signed a contract with the Enstone-based squad. Unfortunately, Van Der Garde’s run was brought to an early end when crashed after just 27 laps. Force India ran Adrian Sutil and test driver Vitantonio Liuzzi, and Williams allowed Nico Hulkenberg out in a 2009-spec. FW30. Hulkenberg caused a red flag when he stopped on track, similarly to Robert Kubica who suffered minor problems, resulting in a third red flag of the day.

Barcelona Test
Day One Results Table

Lap Time
Fastest Time Set

Laps Set
Number Laps Set

1. Japanese FlagTakuma Sato Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m20.763s 121 Laps
2. Swiss FlagSebastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m21.071s 117 Laps
3. Austrian FlagAlex Wurz Honda 1m21.198s 77 Laps
4. Spanish FlagPedro De La Rosa McLaren 1m21.417s 65 Laps
5. British FlagGary Paffett McLaren 1m22.235s 47 Laps
6. Polish FlagRobert Kubica BMW 1m22.341s 56 Laps
7. French FlagSebastien Loeb Red Bull Racing 1m22.503s 82 Laps
8. Brazilian FlagNelson Piquet Jr. Renault 1m22.560s 80 Laps
9. British FlagChristian Klien BMW 1m22.883s 53 Laps
10. German FlagNico Hulkenberg Williams 1m23.467s 116 Laps
11. Italian FlagLuca Badoer Ferrari 1m23.515s 108 Laps
12. Italian FlagVitantonio Liuzzi Force India 1m23.794s 86 Laps
13. German FlagAdrian Sutil Force India 1m23.832s 88 Laps
14. Brazilian FlagBruno Senna Honda 1m24.342s 39 Laps
15. Spanish FlagMarc Gene Ferrari 1m24.521s 33 Laps
16. Dutch FlagGiedo Van Der Garde Renault 1m24.908s 27 Laps
17. Brazilian FlagLucas Di Grassi Honda 1m25.512s 48 Laps


Follow BlogF1