Barcelona Test Day One: Hamilton Fastest On Schumacher’s Return

Barcelona Test Day One: Hamilton Fastest On Schumacher’s Return

Lewis Hamilton - 2008 TestingLewis Hamilton put his McLaren MP4-23 at the top of the timing sheets on the day that saw Michael Schumacher and Kimi Raikkonen share the tarmac in equal equipment. The times were tight, with one second separating the top thirteen and the top half of the tables showing some interesting names. The track was damp in the morning, but unlike last week a dry line appeared relatively quickly and the teams were able to get some decent running in.

Michael Schumacher debuted in the new F2008 today, lapping the circuit only 0.1s shy of Raikkonen and placing his red rocket in a respectable third. Williams also had a great first session at Circuit de Catalunya with Kazuki Nakajima ending his day in fourth and Nico Rosberg winding up in sixth. McLaren completed their day with Heikki Kovalainen landin his new car in fifth.

The surprise of the day was Adrian Sutil, touring the circuit 62 times on his way to ninth. Mark Webber rounded out the top ten with his finned RB4. Although while Webber ran well David Coulthard finshed the day at the bottom in nineteenth. Renault sent both drivers out with Fernando Alonso claiming seventh and Nelson Piquet Jr fifteenth. Both Honda’s continued to struggle with the new RA108, Rubens Barrichello and Alex Wurz only managing seventeenth and eighteenth respectively.

Barcelona Day One Times

1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1m22.276s 78 Laps
2. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m22.319s 82 Laps
3. Michael Schumacher Ferrari 1m22.428s 83 Laps
4. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1m22.724s 54 Laps
5. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1m22.852s 71 Laps
6. Nico Rosberg Williams 1m.22.974s 108 Laps
7. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m23.021s 79 Laps
8. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1m23.075s 75 Laps
9. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m23.091s 62 Laps
10. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1m23.115s 71 Laps
11. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1m23.188s 95 Laps
12. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 1m23.239s 43 Laps
13. Timo Glock Toyota 1m23.270s 70 Laps
14. Christian Klien BMW 1m23.442s 42 Laps
15. Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 1m23.609s 86 Laps
16. Kamui Kobayashi Toyota 1m23.880s 29 Laps
17. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1m24.460s 115 Laps
18. Alex Wurz Honda 1m24.667s 109 Laps
19. David Coulthard Red Bull Racing 1m24.826s 25 Laps


Follow BlogF1